Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Brian82 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Sep 10, 2011, 12:29 AM
    2003 Toyota Echo. Rear right brake light works, signal does not.
    I have a 2003 Toyota Echo which I am having a big pain with. The right rear turn signal is out but the brake light is working therefor I am assuming the wiring is sending a current to the rear with them being on the same wiring system. The front right signal light and dash light blinks very fast. I replaced bulbs in both front right and rear right signals as it was my first guess(im sure this would be the first guess of 99% people with this issue) and still no luck. My next guess would be a bad relays switch, ground, etc. But I haven't the first clue on where to find these problems to fix them as I am no mechanic when it comes to electrical issues. Anyone have suggestions?
    odinn7 Posts: 7,691, Reputation: 1547
    Entomology Expert

Sep 10, 2011, 07:26 AM
    So the brake light works, the turn signal doesn't, you replaced the bulbs and still have the same issue... correct?

What you're describing is most often from the bulb being bad. Assuming you have the right bulb in there, the next thing is there is a bad ground or connection in the socket.

Pull the bulb out of the right rear and look at the socket for corrosion. You will want to look at the sides of the socket which is the ground as well as the contacts at the base of the socket. You may need to replace the socket completely.
    kitch428 Posts: 1,440, Reputation: 152
    Ultra Member

Sep 10, 2011, 08:06 AM
    Yes, a turn signal bulb is just a single filament bulb so be sure that is correct.
    If your 4 way flasher, and left signal work correctly, then the flasher and switch are OK.
    You have now contained the problem down to a small area. The right turn signal socket or bulb.
    I tell you, the best tool in the box can be a simple 12V test light. Go get one. I've even seen them in the supermarket isle.