Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MrsMorrison Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Aug 26, 2008, 06:48 PM
    Dodge Intrepid Motor
    Anyone ever owned or a mechanical expert with dodge intrepids? Is it true that the engines are bad and that you can't change the timing chain. I have a 1999.:confused:
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Aug 26, 2008, 07:40 PM
    I'm no expert on that car, but, if you change the oil and filter regularly, you won't likely have to replace the timing chain. This is especially true, if you use full-synthetic engine oil; e.g. Mobil 1. Personally, I think most cars today are very good, provided they are maintained properly.

The 2.7L engine is known to have a sludging problem. Again, if you use a full-synthetic engine oil, and change the oil and filter every 6,000 miles or 6 months (whichever comes first), you greatly reduce the odds of sludge developing.

Aug 27, 2008, 01:27 PM
    Thanks a lot. I will follow your advice.
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Aug 27, 2008, 02:33 PM
    How many miles are on your vehicle? If you have quite a few thousand and haven't been using synthetic, do not switch now. It's going to come out of every little crack and crease and you're going to have bigger issues.
    this8384 Posts: 4,564, Reputation: 485
    Ultra Member

Aug 28, 2008, 05:43 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by txgreasemonkey
    Respectfully, I totally disagree. Have heard that argument for years, yet never seen it happen.
    Well I have and in more than one instance. I think it's ridiculous that you gave me a red box just because you haven't experienced it; that's a joke.

Aug 28, 2008, 06:27 AM
    I just bought it and it has 113000 miles on it. I'm sure you can understand I need to do anythng I can to keep it running.. I was told by one mechanice that the timing chain cannot be changed, which I believe is faulse.
    Uber Member

Aug 28, 2008, 07:12 AM