Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Tanya77 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 29, 2012, 05:19 AM
    Money stolen
    Hi I am a pub manager, and after doing my books today £260 is missing, can I deduct this from staff wages as someone has obviously stolen it?
    Curlyben Posts: 18,514, Reputation: 1860
    BossMan

Oct 29, 2012, 05:22 AM
    No.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Oct 29, 2012, 05:40 AM
    I'm curious to know what your reasoning is for this. Every employee is responsible for the actions of one? Never mind that fact that it might have been stolen by a customer reaching into the drawer. People work in pairs, one distracts you on one side of the register while the other one steals. Or that fact that you are one of the employees... how will you feel if the owner holds you liable?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Oct 29, 2012, 06:09 AM
    If you have proof, beyond a doubt, which staff member stole it, you may call the police and press charges,

But first no, all you know is that the books don't balance, you are, not sure why or how

And don't know if one did it,

So no, of course you can not just take it from all of them.
    J_9 Posts: 40,298, Reputation: 5646
    Expert

Oct 29, 2012, 06:16 AM
    Why don't you just take it out of your wages? After all, that's what you would be doing to the innocent party/parties.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Money Stolen with ATM transaction [ 12 Answers ]

Me and my husband live in Dallas TX. He tried to make a purchase and it seemed that the transaction was declined because there was not enough money. He checked online that day and say that there were 4 transactions that withdrew $100.00 from ATM on the day and time when he was still at work. It...

Uncle Has Stolen the Trist Money [ 5 Answers ]