Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    spongey82 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Oct 4, 2007, 03:57 PM
    Problems with taxes withheld, but not paid!
    I have been working for a physician's office since August 2005. Since then, I have received a W-2 for each filing year since. However, this year I had a few problems and found out a few things. First, when I asked my employer for my w-2 in late January, I was told by him to "get a 1099 form and pay my own taxes!!" What? I am not an independent contractor and I know that my taxes were withheld and I now know that they were not paid. Every W-2 that I have ever gotten, I now feel is wrong. I contacted the IRS about whether any of this is my fault and they said that it wasn't. Further more, I never, ever, EVER received a check stub! When I ask about one I am told "we don't give those out in this office!" I have no idea what amount of taxes were withheld, but I know for a fact that they were not paid. I found a form for reporting tax fraud on the IRS website, but I am wondering if I should fill it out. [NOTE: My employer uses the office account as his own personal account, writing checks to anyone he feels. (How do I report this?) Sometimes I have to wait a few days--sometimes weeks--before I can even get my check from him!]

I'm sorry, I'm ranting, I know. But I really need to know how to handle this situation. Should I fill out the IRS form 3949 A or should I just let it go? Keep in mind, I do not have a record as to how much Federal and State taxes were withheld. If I could get the IRS to do an audit on the office, then that in itself would make me very, very happy!
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Oct 5, 2007, 06:26 AM
    One thing you should definitely do is check the records at Social Security to verify that your employer has been contributing on your behalf.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Oct 5, 2007, 07:28 AM