Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bandysmom Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Nov 26, 2008, 05:15 PM
    I have been exposed to asbestos
    I live in a 100 year old house which I have been renovating for many years. My laundry machines are in the basement which has a tile floor. Over the years, a significant number of tiles have cracked and broken and I would pick them up and throw them away. Two weeks ago someone told me that these tiles are probably asbestos tiles. I am very concerned now because I was unaware that I was exposing myself to asbestos. When I was a teenager, I smoked for several years but quit when I was in my mid-30's. About 8 years ago, I was diagnosed with asthma and was told I have had asthma all my life. Is it possible that I could already have asbestosis? When I go into the basement, do I need to wear a respirator mask? I have never worn gloves or a mask while in the basement and now are very concerned that I may still be breathing in asbestos dust. I would appreciate any advice you can give me. I have been told recently that I should not touch these tiles without gloves now. Has the damage already occurred over the years? Thank you.
    N0help4u Posts: 19,823, Reputation: 2035
    Uber Member

Nov 26, 2008, 05:35 PM

You need to have an expert come and tell you if it needs to be removed and you will need to get them to remove it to prevent further risk to yourself.
    You will need to have a dr check you for Mesothelioma.
    A friend of mine was exposed to asbestos with his work for several years. He has brown blotches all over his skin from it but other than that it doesn't seem to have effected him much.
    You might even want to check with a lawyer that specializes in asbestos if you bought the house after asbestos poisoning was recognized. I am not sure who or if you have a law suit but it might be worth looking into.

asbestos exposure - Google Search
    KBC Posts: 2,550, Reputation: 487
    Ultra Member

Nov 26, 2008, 06:32 PM