Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    bluebear3 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2007, 07:33 AM
    Gall bladder operation
    Hi
    I am just over a key hole surgurey I had my gall bladder removed. Although its not painful now- I have been taking over the counter pain killers, not all the time but on and off. I have been off work for the last two weeks. I still have a few paper sticthes in me . Its still quiet sore and hurts a lot- I can't bend down really with out getting some discomfort- I was wondering how long one takes to get over such a operation - and when would I return to work . Kind of bored been around the house all the time ! Can't do anything !
    talaniman Posts: 54,325, Reputation: 10855
    Expert

Oct 17, 2007, 08:19 AM
    I took 3 days off, no painkillers and went back to work. At the time I was a mechanic for a major steel company.
    Emland Posts: 2,468, Reputation: 496
    Ultra Member

Oct 17, 2007, 08:25 AM
    I had mine done on a Thursday (got a tubal ligation, too) and went back to work on Monday. I was driving a school bus at the time.

I was bruised for a couple of weeks, but the pain wasn't very bad (as I recall.) Maybe you should check with your doctor and make sure you don't have an infection.
    bluebear3 Posts: 11, Reputation: 1

Oct 17, 2007, 10:58 AM
    Thanks for your comments - before I had the operation I had a infection all under my rib cage and around my gall bladder was inflamed- was on antibodics for a while. Maybe its just the soreness from that. The opening at my right side where I think the gall bladder was sucked out of is the worst sorness it stints none stop. I have appointment with my doctor on Friday earliest I could get - hopefully by then I will improve.