Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Dr1757 Posts: 186, Reputation: 25

Feb 2, 2008, 05:57 PM
    MDF for built in book case
    I am about to construct a built in book case in a new addition to my house. I have never used MDF before, and would like to know if there are any pitfalls using this stuff for shelves etc.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Feb 3, 2008, 09:06 PM
    The biggest pitfall is the stuff will bow over time. It's great for several applications but shelving isn't one of them.

Feb 4, 2008, 12:36 AM
    Thanks I appreciate the comment
    jack dandy Posts: 226, Reputation: 9

Feb 4, 2008, 07:49 AM
    I did a built in, in my sons bedroom and used Oak a little more expensive but looks great and will not bow as talked of by ballenger, another advantage of oak it should last a lifetime. Good Luck!
    GLEIGHVAH Posts: 29, Reputation: 4

Feb 4, 2008, 11:22 AM
    You Can Can Give Mdf Rigidity By Running A 1x2 Oak Pine Or Poplar Across The Face Of The Shelf

Feb 5, 2008, 05:57 PM
    I have some 1/2" square tubing and could dado a grove in the bottom of the shelf and glass the tube in place where it wouldn't show. What do you guys think about that?

Feb 5, 2008, 06:05 PM
    Not so much. How thick is the MDF and how long will your shelf be? Take a piece of that tubing and put it between two saw horses and then put a 40 lbs weight in the center, that deflection is what your shelf can still do.

Feb 6, 2008, 05:48 PM
    MDF is 3/4 and the span is 30 inches. Thanks for the advice, I'll try the saw-horse test before I commit the time and effort of actually building a shelf.
    glavine Posts: 895, Reputation: 87

Feb 6, 2008, 07:28 PM
    just spaning 30" id use a clear pine or poplar 1x2, make sure you glue and nail it with 1 1/4 brads

you can always double up the mdf and make it 1 1/2 thick, this will also help.