Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Amandurdy Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 5, 2011, 05:15 PM
    I am losing my hope to find a job! What should I do?
    I have been looking for a job for couple of years.I have a diploma with honors from well-known college and my volunteering experience about two years. I have already sent tons of resumes with cover letter to hundreds of organizations. I haven't get even a simple respond.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jul 5, 2011, 05:27 PM

Have you watched for local job openings, even part-time ones and out of your specific area of knowledge? May I ask your general location?

You can't just mail out hundreds of resumes. You have to target and you have to network. Networking is what will get you a job. And you may have to do something not real fun or not what you're trained for at first, but at least be working and get your foot in the door.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Jul 5, 2011, 08:29 PM

How many places are you applying to every day ? You would normally apply to a few hundred places in a month if you are really job looking.

Next are you looking for any job, not just things in your area of degree.

And this is real life, sorry but degrees with honors may mean a lot to some firms, but a degree if you were in the top 10 or in the bottom 10, if you have your degree that is about all most places care.
    southamerica Posts: 667, Reputation: 400

Jul 5, 2011, 08:44 PM

Go to your school's career services and ask them if there are any internships available. Some internships ask for interns with completed degrees. I got the job I have now because I started at the company as an unpaid intern - and it's in my field.
    DG Posts: 1,375, Reputation: 109
    Ultra Member

Jul 5, 2011, 09:10 PM

Don't give up keep looking , you will find something.
    Two years isn't that long.