Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Raider777 Posts: 8, Reputation: 1

Nov 13, 2013, 09:50 AM
    HR Question on Employee Conduct
    Hi,
    I have a dilema. I work in IT and when looking on a co-workers computer for software that I needed, I found a folder with some material in it that freaked me out. I think I know what the right thing to do is, but I don't know how to do it. I found a hidden folder with pictures of employees (female) that were very improper. I'm pretty sure these girls aren't giving pictures to this individual. So, it leads me to suspect that the pictures were somehow taken privately.

How do I approach this? Do I go straight to HR or go to my manager? Or do I set up a meeting with both and just drop the bomb on them?

Please help..
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Nov 13, 2013, 09:58 AM
    First, the Forum Help area is for question about using this forum. I moved your post to a more appropriate forum.

If the pics were not of current employees, I would be more inclined to not be a snitch. But If I'm getting your drift, these appear to be pictures of current employees surreptitiously taken without the approval or knowledge of those employees.

This is criminal behavior in most places. And if someone finds out, the company could be in trouble. So yes, I would report this to HR.

Nov 13, 2013, 10:21 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by ScottGem View Post
    First, the Forum Help area is for question about using this forum. I moved your post to a more appropriate forum.

If the pics were not of current employees, I would be more inclined to not be a snitch. But If I'm getting your drift, these appear to be pictures of current employees surreptitiously taken without the approval or knowledge of those employees.

This is criminal behavior in most places. And if someone finds out, the company could be in trouble. So yes, I would report this to HR.