Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Desouza21 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 17, 2012, 02:09 AM
    Can a company make me sign a contract
    I have been working in sales for my company for the last 4 years and year on year increasing my sales I have never signed or even seen a contract of employment.
    They now what me to sign one that will restrict me going to a competitor for a number of months or speaking to my clients should I want to leave
    Do I have to sign this? What can they do if I don’t sign?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Sep 17, 2012, 02:49 AM
    They can let you go if you won't sign. There are no 'rights' to the job except civil rights regarding race, creed, religion, gender and age.
    Some people hire a lawyer when this happens.
    I might be inclined to ask for a discussion about re-writing it. I think it's reasonable not to talk to clients if you leave, but what if you have to relocate to take care of an aging parent or something (present a hypothetical that describes your situation)? I would not sign a contract that prevents me from working for a competitor. I might negotiate a small list of competitors, or a shorter time limit, if they won't budge on dropping that part altogether.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

No sign-on bonus contract [ 2 Answers ]

I didn't have a sign-on bonus agreemet. But the former employer claimed that I accepted their offer which has a clause saying that I shall repay the sign-on bonus if I leave voluntarily before one year. I left in about 10 months and they asked the money back. The offer letter doesn't have my...

I'm bieng sued but its not my debt I sign contract as a representative of this company [ 1 Answers ]