Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tylershawn00 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Dec 8, 2009, 02:34 PM
    Cry wolf after 5 months and refusely of medical attention?
    I was contacted by my insurance agency today(progressive). They informed me that a person I had re-ended had wanted more money than my policy had covered. My policy covers 25,000 bodily per person and wants 35,000.

My problem with this is, This happened over five months ago, and at the time of the incident he refused medical attention and drove off. I barley hit him no damage to either car. Also I'm No doctor but he seemed fine and not even the least bit shook up.

Farther more progressive has told me that this is not final there lawyers have not even looked at the claim yet and could all be settled within my policy limits, but when someone tells you that you could possibly be sued for 10,000 I start to get a little worried.I wondered IF they do decide To pay there 25,000 Would it be worth to fight the other 10,000.

Thank you for any input.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Dec 8, 2009, 02:40 PM

Let the insurance company continue to play with this. They don't really just give up $25K without looking closely at the claim. Do not worry just yet, the fat lady hasn't sung
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Dec 8, 2009, 05:55 PM

Several things

1. while yes this does seem like a scam, a lot of real ended injury can wait a day or two to show up. I kow the last time I was hit from the rear, I felt great that day, the next day I could not even get out of bed. I was OK in about 3 days but did have a trip to the ER, some meds and a couple days of missed work.

Yes, remember the insurance company is there for their protection, not yours, I would never agree personally without an attorney
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Dec 8, 2009, 07:22 PM