Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    marprusz Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 15, 2011, 08:22 PM
    US Poland saving clause?
    Hi,

I entered US in 22nd of March 2010 holding H1B visa as a postdoctoral associate at the university, working as a researcher (Article 17 of the US-Poland Tax Convention). I claimed tax-treaty and gave to my employer W9 and 8233 forms. I am still in US (15th of March 2011). According to US rules I am a resident alien, which can claim tax treaty, because of the "saving clause". Non federal or state taxes were withheld from my wages. I paid only OASDI and Medicare. Now, I received from employer W2 form (only boxes 3 and 5 contain Social and Medicare wages and boxes 4 and 6 contain withheld Social and Medicare taxes) and 1042-S form in which is box 1 (income code - 18 - compensation for teaching; box 5 - tax rate 00.00 and box 6 - exemption code 04 - exempt under treaty). The 1042-S copy A form was sent to IRS from my employer. I didn't have any other wages, only from one employer - university.

The question is: should I (or it's recommended to me) fill any 1040 form and attach W2 and 1042-S to this? Should I also attach a 8833 form in which explain my tax treaty exemption?

I appreciate any information. Thank you.

Check out some similar questions!

F1 status, non-resident alien, $8000 tax credit and "saving clause." [ 4 Answers ]

Hi, My situation is a little complicated so I need some help for my 2011 tax filing. I came to the States in 2005 on F1 visa and worked for 1 year (2009-2010) on OPT. Since July 2010, I am on another F1 visa for graduate school. I also bought a condo in April, 2010. 1)since I have...

Girlfriend moved to Poland [ 2 Answers ]