Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jennnifer Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Sep 2, 2010, 03:41 AM
    Is 25 too old to start dancing
    I started dancing at the age of 8 until about 16 when I stopped and went to university to do an unrelated degree. I am now nearly 26 and really want to get back into it as I have a natural talent and love for dance and realise that a boring office job is just such an unhealthy lifestyle and quite de-motivating! Every time I hear music I just want to get up and dance, I feel such a strong connection with performing arts but Im not fully trained to my full potential. Is it too late too start again? I am not a complete beginner but got a little bit out of shape between the age of 18 and 25 and need to get my fitness back up to scratch! Thanks in advance for your advice!
    jcscos Posts: 13, Reputation: 5

Sep 2, 2010, 11:37 AM

Hi there! I think it's never too late to dance, but as for making it a proffession, I would be hesitant. I was a ballet dancer in a company in chicago for years and then did it in college as well. I am now 29 and can't imagine putting my body through all of that stress. When you are younger, your joints react differently. I had 5 surgeries on my feet, I have achilles tendanitis, I had cortizone shots... I would say overall, do it for fun but don't expect any dance companies in your future :(

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Is 22 too old to start dancing? [ 9 Answers ]

I am 22. I am tired of being afraid to use my body and be free with it. When younger, I used to second guess myself with everything and was extremely shy. I broke out of shyness towards the end of jr high school going to high school. Sometimes that shy, self conscious feeling creeps back in and I...

Dancing ! [ 4 Answers ]