Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    briiibriii Posts: 25, Reputation: 2

Jul 18, 2011, 08:52 PM
    Acting career right for me?
    Okay so I want to be an actress. This isn't one of those stupid dream things everyone has. I have no experience in acting, but I love to act around family and friends. And honestly, I think I'm pretty good at it. I want to take an acting class, but I'm scared people would laugh at me since I have no experience. Im 15 years old-help please.
    jcaron2 Posts: 986, Reputation: 204

Jul 18, 2011, 09:07 PM
    You should go for it! It sounds like you've got a natural talent for it, and you obviously have the desire. Acting classes get new people all the time, so they'll be used to inexperienced people. Sure, you may find other people your age who've already had years of experience, but you'll also find lots of people your age and older with no experience at all. There'll probably be plenty of "newbies" in your class, but even if there aren't, you'll only be the "new girl" for a short time. Break a leg!
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jul 18, 2011, 09:26 PM
    You can't be an actress if you are scared of what people think. The whole idea of acting is convincing your audience of a persona and emotion. When you act, YOU are setting the tone, the mood, and THEY are swept up in what you are.
    So - stop being scared.
    If the instructor is tough, all the better for preparing you for your career, where no one will coddle you, and you might get yelled at, all part of the job.
    briiibriii Posts: 25, Reputation: 2

Jul 18, 2011, 09:33 PM
    Comment on joypulv's post
    If that doesn't work for me, I am also really interested in being a model. I have braces right now, so I think I'll wait until I get them off. How should I tell my parents I'm interested in modeling?
    jcaron2 Posts: 986, Reputation: 204

Jul 18, 2011, 09:40 PM